Magic rules continued


In my post of races, I discussed some of the general changes in feel, concept, and now I will start in on how some of the mechanics of the game system tie in. I will eventually have a complete race/class chart but for now I am going to keep moving forward on the magic rules variants.

I will be honest that I am not a HTML guru, so my table usage and configuring in HTML format is not the best so I ask you to bear with me.

Hum=Human D=Dwarf E=Elf H-E=Half-Elf G=Gnome Hal=Halfling H-O=Half-Orc

Hum D E H-E Gn Hal H-O
Alchemist X X X
Bard X X X X X
Cleric X X X X X X*
Druid X X X X
Inquisitor X X X X
Magus X X X**** X****
Oracle X X X X X X
Paladin X X
Ranger X X X X X X
Sorcerer X X X X X X**
Summoner X X X X X X***
Witch X X X X X
Wizard X X X

HTML Tables

X*Halfing clerics are rare as they seldom have the dedication and stability needed to function within an Organized religion or church. Those that have deep devotion to a god, tend to wander spreading the faith rather than working in the churches normal hierarchy.

X**Half-Orc sorcerers born in Orcish villages are normally put to death when their powers manifest early in childhood as working magic without a pact to the Dark Ones is forbiden. Half-Orc sorcerer born in non-Orcish villages can lead as full and normal a life as a half-orc can. Should a half-Orc sorcerer come into contact with Orcs they will become the primary target and will be pursued till the target or the Orcs are dead.

X***Half-Orc summoner are revered as they are believed to be able to channel aspects of the Dark Ones and their servants from the beyond to fight on the half-orcs behalf.

X****Elven and Half-Elven Magus cast spontaneously as sorcerers. Substitute Charisma instead of Intelligence modifier in all for the base skill modifier for abilities and powers, their spells known is as per a sorcerer but spells per day are as per the Magus list.

About Mike Schmidt

I am a geek with many passions from RPGs, miniature wargaming, board games, fantasy novels/tv, camping, fishing, hunting, firearms, shooting sports, zombies, preparedness, and recently fitness and obstacle racing.
This entry was posted in Rules, The Campaign, Twin Falls, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Magic rules continued

  1. timsbrannan says:

    Your table looks fine. I like what you are doing here, but I will add only a small anecdote.
    One of my favorite characters sounds like something that should never work; a Dwarven Witch.
    http://timbrannan.blogspot.com/2012/12/xothia-dwarven-witch.html

    I am not sure about the rules of your world (still reading) but maybe as an NPC.

Leave a comment