Magnetic Dungeon

This is a pictorial guide to how I built my magnetic modular dungeon.  The walls and floor tiles are from Fat Dragon Games, E-Z Dungeon system. The guide to how I built the walls can be found in my post Dungeon Terrain….my first foray into terrain modeling , the only change is I no longer use the Styrofoam and use a double thickness of 3/16” foam board.  While not a thick as the hollow of the wall it is close enough to keep them from being crushed.  All tiles and walls are printed on 110# card stock.  So now on to the floor construction.

22” x 24” sheet of foam board

Foam board cut to the size of my sheet metal

Foam board cut to the size of my sheet metal

My sheet metal fabricator cut the sheets 22” x 24” since that is what he had laying around, I would have liked 24”x24” but for free I will take them.  I have 3 pieces of sheet metal to make floors with.

22'' x 24'' panning grade sheet metal, sanded for better glue adhesion

22” x 24” panning grade sheet metal, sanded for better glue adhesion

I used spray glued to adhere the metal to foam board, I will stick with this technique if I make more floors in the future.  After I made the first floor I had some small gaps between the 8”x8” floor tiles so I sprayed sheets 2 and 3 with flat black primer.  I only applied a very light coat of paint.

Dungeon floor 2 & 3 got a fine coat of flat black spray paint to darken any gaps between tiles.

Dungeon floor 2 & 3 got a fine coat of flat black spray paint to darken any gaps between tiles.

Metal spray glued to the foam board, and drying.

I used spray glue to glue the board and metal together. seems to be working so far.

I used spray glue to adhere the foam board and metal together. seems to be working so far. I sprayed both the metal and the foam board before gluing them together.

Adding the fist tile, I sprayed the metal and the tile with glue.  It makes it hard as the tile will stick your fingers as glue starts to build on them.  I found spraying the entire metal sheet first was helpful than I just sprayed the tile as I got ready to apply it.

 

the first floor tile is glued down

the first floor tile is glued down
more tiles down

more tiles down

 

Just need to trim the excess tiles off.

Just need to trim the excess tiles off.

Completed floor

Completed floor

They don't quite line up, but some of the tiles were printed at different times and had slightly different dimensions due to printer setting.  At 2' above the dungeon floor it is hard to notice.  If I ever redo them I will be more OCD about it.

They don’t quite line up, but some of the tiles were printed at different times and had slightly different dimensions due to printer setting. At 2′ above the dungeon floor it is hard to notice. If I ever redo them I will be more OCD about it.

2' above the dungeon floor.

2′ above the dungeon floor.

 

Top is 6'' walls, next are 4'' walls, next are 2'' walls, last are 3'' walls

Top is 6” walls, next are 4” walls, next are 2” walls, last are 3” walls

Just a random layout

Just a random layout

inverted dungeon

inverted dungeon

 

This project has been fun and I can’t wait to use it in a game.  I am going to make some magnetic bases for minis so that I can run a vertical dungeon crawl for my players.  I have doorways and other features for the dungeon but have not had time to cut and build them yet.  The amount of extras, and neat little features included in the Fat Dragon Games PDFs are amazing.  For now though I need to build walls, lots of walls as I have 3 – 22” x 24” dungeon floors, that is right 1584 square inches of terror awaits my PCs  mwahahahahahahaha!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Mike Schmidt

I am a geek with many passions from RPGs, miniature wargaming, board games, fantasy novels/tv, camping, fishing, hunting, firearms, shooting sports, zombies, preparedness, and recently fitness and obstacle racing.
This entry was posted in Accessories, Terrain and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Magnetic Dungeon

  1. Pingback: Dungeon Room Dressings | Swords of Legend

  2. Alabast says:

    This is really awesome! Will have to share it with the followers of our blog.

  3. Haco says:

    How you made with the walls to be them magnetics? Youn don’t explain how to do the walls!! Plz i want my magnetic walls!!!

  4. Michael says:

    I would so purchase this. Have you considered selling it via Kickstarter?

    • raskin91 says:

      Thanks for the approval, but I have no desire to produce this set in a mass market approach. The process of building them was more personally rewarding and it would just be no fun and low profit to produce for sale.

    • Legally, he wouldn’t be able to. The design of the textures and the design of the walls are owned by Fat Dragon.

  5. Chris says:

    I’ve been wanting to do this forever but I can’t seem to find a source for the metal sheet. Any pointer would be awesome dude!

  6. Vincent Frey says:

    Great idea! I have a bunch of Fat Dragon walls made up. I’ll will definitely go this route in the future. Out of curiosity, what gauge sheet metal did you use?

  7. Pingback: TPKtalk for Dec 14 - TPK

  8. speaknstomp says:

    I’m working up a drawing for a book, and your floor design is my adopted guide for laying out my floor. Funny my son in law is named Michael Schmidt.

  9. Sgt. Slag says:

    I would suggest covering the tiles with clear contact paper to protect them from wear and tear. There are two types of clear contact paper (it’s vinyl, actually, and it provides a great deal of protection…): matte, and glossy. I would recommend the matte stuff. Overlap the seams by 1″ for best protection, and wrap it around the edges, if possible, prior to applying the tiles to the metal bases.

    One sidebar on the clear contact paper: you can mark it with water-based pens (NOT dry erase — these won’t come off, they’re permanent…), for whatever you need to mark, temporarily. It works best by peeling slowly, and only a few inches, then pressing it down, and repeat it until you reach the end. Cheers!

  10. Pingback: 7 DIY Projects for Crafty GMs - Multiverse

    • Mike Schmidt says:

      Very nice article with some fun and interesting projects. Thanks for the mention, and I hope others find it useful.

Leave a Reply

