Dungeon Terrain….my first foray into terrain modeling

During the RPGNOW GM sale I picked up a bunch of Fat Dragon Games E-Z dungeon terrain PDFs.  I read the PDF guide on paper modeling and it seemed straight forward enough.  Rather then just try it as directed, I felt the need to make it more difficult by modifying the process.  So enter some 7/16″ foam for in the walls, and some sheet metal and some magnets.  Unfortunately I don’t have the dungeon floor ready as my sheet metal was cut to the wrong size and I need to get some more to fill the gap.  The post about the dungeon floor will follow shortly.

Card stock 4'' wall cut and scored

Card stock 4” wall cut and scored

I purchased the foam from Michael's craft supply.

I purchased the foam from Michael’s craft supply.  Foam is cut to 3.75” long,          by 1 & 7/8” high.

Positioning the magnets prior to mounting

Positioning the magnets prior to mounting

Cut outs for magnets

Cut outs for magnets

Finished wall I need to trim the foam a bit for the next wall.

Finished wall I need to trim the foam a bit for the next wall.

Wall on the fridge

Wall on the fridge

 

The one edge is a bit rough, but I think that is do to the foam being to long.  I am going to cut all future foam 3 & 5/8” long but the 1 & 7/8” seems good.  When I start building the Dragonshire structures, I am thinking of putting metal strips at the tops of walls but I will figure that out when I get there.

 

 

 

About Mike Schmidt

I am a geek with many passions from RPGs, miniature wargaming, board games, fantasy novels/tv, camping, fishing, hunting, firearms, shooting sports, zombies, preparedness, and recently fitness and obstacle racing.
This entry was posted in Minitures, Terrain and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dungeon Terrain….my first foray into terrain modeling

  1. Pingback: Magnetic Dungeon | Swords of Legend

  2. Haco says:

    Very nice and wonderful!! You’re the best!! Thanks for all now i need the material to elaborate all!!

  3. Craig Corlis says:

    What magnets did you use? The box is too blurry to make out, and everything I see online is at least 1/2 inch wide, which seems too wide to fit inside the walls…

    • Mike Schmidt says:

      Craig, as this project was years ago I really don’t remember where I got them or what size they were. I would wager they were 1/4″ and I got them at Michaels Craft store or online. When I get home tonight I will look in my hobby supply box and if I find them I will report back.

      • Craig Corlis says:

        Thanks very much! It looks awesome. Can I ask how well it held up over the years since then?

      • Mike Schmidt says:

        It held up well enough in limited use, unfortunately life got in they way of RPG playtime. Even time and storage in the attic didn’t beat it up to bad.

Leave a Reply

