House rule on movement

I know the I had said I was going to write more about the the events of the battle but I have something else that has been occupying my thoughts.  We had an issue about movement during a charge attack.

I have read and re-read the rule for Charging (You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent). In particular it is the interpretation of “directly towards the designated opponent” that has caused a problem in my game last night. If you look at the picture of the battle mat you will see the combat in question. The PC wanted to charge the HC (Hobgoblin Chief) and move to CP1 (charge position 1) in order to cut off the HC from being able to advance on the party’s NPC spellcaster. I interpreted directly to mean he would have to charge to CP2.

This is a battle mat diagram of the charge attack in question.

This is a battle mat diagram of the charge attack in question.

A discussion of the rules followed involving line of sight, and there aren’t hexes in real world (i.e. why can’t I clip the corners and move through parts of squares to get to where I want to go). I understand where he is coming from, when we play Warmachine it is all line of sight and no grid lines but when we tabletop we use the mat for easy movement tracking, etc, etc.

I have discussed this exact issue on the google+ Pathfinder community and it got me thinking that I am going to modify the movement system.  I am thinking that I am still going to use the battle mat to map out dungeons, encounters, and all the things that it is useful for.  I am thinking that I am going to use a tape measure system and the grids on the mat will be irrelevant.  One inch will equal five feet of movement, which is what the mat made it easy to measure.  It will simplify the diagonal movement counting method, and allow movement along line of sight and across the grid line pattern of the mat.  You would still be prohibited from moving through the area occupied by an enemy.  I think I am going to try a play test with it next session and see how it goes.

About Mike Schmidt

I am a geek with many passions from RPGs, miniature wargaming, board games, fantasy novels/tv, camping, fishing, hunting, firearms, shooting sports, zombies, preparedness, and recently fitness and obstacle racing.
This entry was posted in Rules, The Campaign and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

