Advise from Michael Curtis, and a afternoon of play testing.

Play testing a DCC adventure

Well my FLGS, All Things Fun, host a meet and greet with author and designer Michael Curtis.  He wrote The Dungeon Alphabet, and adventures for Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG.  It was a rather low key event, with a very friendly feel.  I meet Michael and we had a chance to talk about adventure design.  I am at this point still struggling with where and how to start my new campaign so I figured it was a good time to ask some questions.

I asked Michael how do you get started, how do you develop your plan of attack?  He answered me by telling me his process for campaign building is an organic process.  We talked for about ten minutes on the subject, discussing different ways to get going with the campaign.  I would try to include more detail but it would be a lot of paraphrasing on my part as I didn’t take notes or record the interview (My girlfriend the former reporter would scold me if she read this).   At the end of our conversation, I was no closer to having my plan for the adventure hook I am longing for but Michael reminded me not to get bogged down in the details and mechanics during the creative process.   For that I owe you, Michael a deep and deserved thank you.

Now onto the fun and moment of geek bliss, the play test.  I started out playing Advanced Dungeons and Dragons 2nd Edition so I never got that basic D&D experience.   Well today I did, with DCC RPG.  It was a lot of fun, it was paired down with lots of flavor and easy to learn system.  I had no experience with it before today, but I managed to pick it up easily.

My girlfriend has had a blog about make up and nail polish for years. I have forgotten more about nail polish over the years than any man should know, but now I understand her joy of going to a conference and getting to see a new yet unlaunched polish or finding Unicorn Pee(a rare and coveted polish).  Now onto the geek bliss, I got to take part in a play test for a yet unpublished adventure that Michael is working on.  It was a lot of fun and the experience of getting to play something before it hit the market and offer feed back was enjoyable.  I won’t go into any details about the adventure other than to say it was a good throw back style dungeon crawl.

It was a wonder full afternoon playing a new to me RPG, and getting to meet some new gamers and a game designer.

The copy of The Dungeon Alphabet, Michael signed for me.

About Mike Schmidt

I am a geek with many passions from RPGs, miniature wargaming, board games, fantasy novels/tv, camping, fishing, hunting, firearms, shooting sports, zombies, preparedness, and recently fitness and obstacle racing.
This entry was posted in Getting started again and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Advise from Michael Curtis, and a afternoon of play testing.

  1. rmckee78 says:

    Had a great time gaming with you and Drance this weekend. Hope I will see you out at ATF again.

  2. raskin91 says:

    Definitely nice to meet you as well, I am going to have try and make it to ATF for Wednesday RPG night.

  3. Drance says:

    Hey there! It was indeed a pleasure to game with you this past Sunday, and please stop by on Wednesday nights if you get a chance, and join in the gaming fun at the store!

Leave a Reply

