Knocking the dust off….

It has been quite some time since I have run an RPG game, years to be exact.  Back in the day I could through a game together in no time or even by the seat of my pants.  I remember back in high school Friday night would roll around the guys would come over, order some pizzas and we would play.  We could play none stop till five or six a.m. and crash on the floor for five hours get up and pick up where we left off.  Rinse, lather, and repeat till Sunday around four or five p.m.

Some great adventures and short term campaigns started that way.  Other times that adventure ended Sunday when everyone went home.  It flowed so easily for us, then I spent a lot of time as a player as one of the younger guys took over the mantle of DM/GM.  As he grew as a GM, we as a group went on to explore other games.  He and I would dabble in running them.  He really enjoyed running and I was happy to get to play.  In college I ran games for friends and hall-mates and it was still easy.

I stopped playing RPGs for some time (a few years) and then got back in as a player.  Soon after I would run a campaign again.  After that I would assume the role of player again, and for many years I have sat on that side of the GM.

Well today I ordered mine from my FLGS.  It is time to change my seat at the table, now if I could just get a good campaign hook idea.

About Mike Schmidt

I am a geek with many passions from RPGs, miniature wargaming, board games, fantasy novels/tv, camping, fishing, hunting, firearms, shooting sports, zombies, preparedness, and recently fitness and obstacle racing.
This entry was posted in Getting started again and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

