Minis for my campiagn, and $%#@ing space marines….

Thursday is going to be my day to post about topics related to my campaign. The topics could range from miniatures, mapping, world development, game play scenarios, etc.

Today I am talking about minis, and in particular modding them. I am by no means an artist, or sculptor but I figured I should try my hand at it. The base minis I choose are Reaper’s Prince Danithal from the Warlord series, to be the mini for the party’s new Elven ranger. Next I choose Daereth, Royal Guard, also from the Warlord series, for the party’s Elven paladin.

The PC who, plays the ranger choose to go down the two weapon fighting path. He fights with a long sword and a light mace. I used a morning star weapon from the Reaper weapon rack though. It was easier to mod onto the hand than the small maces. I clipped the sword off at the hilt, and filed it flat. Next I drilled the hand so it could receive the pin that was already on the morning star.

20130207-175158.jpg

14066: Danithal, Elven Warlord ($7.49) Werner Klocke
picture from Reaper.com

front view

front view

A view of the mace/morning star

A view of the mace/morning star

The PC who plays the paladin fights with a heavy mace and shield. I cut Daereth’s hand and sword off. I used green stuff to mold a new hand to hold the mace. I also used a bit to hold the shield arm on.

14439: Daereth, Elven Royal Guard Sergeant ($6.99)Bobby Jackson photo from Reaper.com

14439: Daereth, Elven Royal Guard Sergeant ($6.99) Bobby Jackson              photo from Reaper.com

 

Front view

Daereth Front view
Deareth rear view

Daereth rear view

So there you have my modded minis, next it is off to touch up, primer, and paint for them. Is it Bones time yet?

I want to take a moment to to address the whole Games Workshops/space marines issue. My initial response was less than civilized (think a Dwarf getting kicked out of an all you can eat buffet before he had all he could eat), but I won’t repeat that here. As a business owner I understand wanting to protect your rights but this goes beyond that. It would be one thing if the author was writing about a space marine in the Warhammer 40K world but they weren’t. It would be like someone trying to trademark elves or dwarves they are concepts that are part of the common mythos. Our love of fantasy and sci-fi didn’t come from some miniatures game it came from the books, the movies, the TV shows and cartoons. They are an industry profiting off of the ground work laid by Sci-fi writers that came before them. I was on the fence about buying some 40k stuff but not gonna happen now. Should they decide to pull their head out of their asses then maybe. I urge you all to put your wallets where our outrage is and stop buying their products.

Here is a link to Games Workshop contact page.

About Mike Schmidt

I am a geek with many passions from RPGs, miniature wargaming, board games, fantasy novels/tv, camping, fishing, hunting, firearms, shooting sports, zombies, preparedness, and recently fitness and obstacle racing.
This entry was posted in Minitures, The Campaign and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Minis for my campiagn, and $%#@ing space marines….

  1. Greg Johnston says:

    Nice mods. Though I am confused why the shield arm on the Paladin mini needs green stuff. It looks perfectly fine as it was. Am I missing something?

    • raskin91 says:

      I had a bit of green stuff left over and when I did a dry fit of the shield arm I felt it could be a weak point with just glue. I also didn’t think I could drill it without making the socket wall to thin if that makes sense. To be honest I should have given glue a chance.

  2. Chris says:

    I like the look of my new character mini

Leave a Reply

